Dog n Brussels

31 Mar

Today I went to the dentist! Other than my poor receding gums, my teeth are doing just fine. The floss they give you is so misleading though…it looks like a full size, but there’s really only a little bit inside.

After the dentist I went and tried on new running shoes!! I’ve been buying the same pair of stability Asics (21 series) for a few years now, but I was a bit disappointed when I tried on the new model. New running shoes usually feel heavenly, but these felt a bit stiff and tight. I’m not sure what to do because I’m one of those people who’s afraid to switch shoes. I tried on the Brooks Ravenna 2, and although they felt comfy, the motion did feel really different. What do I do?

After another not-so-great workout at the gym, I came home and made dinner for one. Matt’s out with friends, so I just threw a jalapeno chicken dog on the skillet and made some roasted brussels.


Despite the simplicity, this meal tasted so delicious.

The rain is falling steadily outside and its supposed to turn into a Nor’easter tomorrow:( Maybe after this snow storm spring will come? A girl can dream..
Anyway, I’m going back into the kitchen to look for a beer or dessert. Sleep tight.
Edited to add: I found just what I was looking for in the kitchen….

8 Responses to “Dog n Brussels”

  1. Alexis April 1, 2011 at 1:54 am #

    The Nike Pegasus is more for neutral runners. I used to wear Asics Gel-2010, 2120, 2130, etc. But when I tried the 2150, the toe box felt so wide, almost like Brooks Adrenaline shoes. So Brooks were out too. I tried the Mizuno Wave Inspire 6 (I think 7 is out now), and those were perfect. Right now, is offering them for $70. The problem is, those shoes have only lasted me like 6 months; usually, the asics lasted me a year and a half or two years! Try the wave inspire! They are more cushy and tight like the kayano, but aren’t so expensive.:) Just a suggestion :)

    • Erin D. April 1, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

      I feel the same way about my Asics! They last forever. I recently switched to Brooks but they do wear out a lot more quickly. I just went to buy a new pair of Asics, but they felt so clunky and heavy that I ended up with another pair of Brooks. Sigh. :)

  2. Katherine: Unemployed April 1, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    very nice authenticity here! love your blog!

  3. Becky April 1, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Did you try the Brooks Adrenalines? They are comparable in support to the 2160s, but much lighter and more flexible. I work at a running store (in WI) and many of the customers have liked the Adrenalines better than the 2160s. Some others comparable in support to try would be:

    -Saucony Progrid Guide
    -Nike Structure Triax+
    -Adidas Supernova Sequence or Response
    -Mizuno Inspire (though these run on the narrow side)

    When you are looking for shoes, make sure that they have some support (b/c the 21 series is a support/guidance shoe) – most companies use some sort of denser foam that you can see under the arch area of your shoe if you look at the side of it – there is usually a darker grey section, or a section that looks like it is made from a different material. I am not sure where you usually go to get your shoes, but I have had good luck at Marathon Sports in the past – they have a few locations along the Boston Marathon route (including one in Brookline). Best of luck!!

    • Laura April 1, 2011 at 1:14 pm #


      Thanks so much for all the ideas. I’m planning to go back on Sunday and I’ll def. try on some of the others you suggested. I really like the look of the mizuno’s and I’ll def. try the Brooks!


  4. Erin D. April 1, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Hi Laura! I think this is the first time I’ve commented. :) I just wanted to mention that I wear the Ravenna series because it’s a neutral shoe for fore-foot strikers (I love it but I wear the treads out SOOOO quick). Maybe it isn’t the best stability shoe, though? A second opinion might not be a bad idea!

    • Laura April 2, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      Hi, thanks for the comment! Maybe I’m mixing up the Ravenna and the Adrenaline? Good to know the treads wear out quickly…

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 514 other followers

